Contact Information

Faculty Development Program

+632/426-6001 ext.5004




Office Hours:
Mon - Fri 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM

LS Bookstore formalizes professorial chair donation

As a sales outlet for all things related to learning and student life, the Loyola Schools Bookstore has met with tremendous success in the few years since it opened in 2006. With clientele from all sectors of the Ateneo, including alumni and foreign guests, the LS Bookstore has proved to be a successful experiment in student entrepreneurship as well, with many items designed and produced by student-owned companies.

On October 5, 2010, World Teachers’ Day, the LS Bookstore formalized another kind of contribution to the Ateneo community with its donation of a non-restricted professorial chair, the Ateneo Loyola Schools Bookstore Professorial Chair.

Seated: Fr. Nemesio Que, SJ, Ateneo Scholarship Fund Executive Director; University President Fr. Bienvenido Nebres, SJ;
VPLS Dr. John Paul Vergara; LS Bookstore Director William Mallari. Standing: Romeo Dalandan, Jr. (OUDAR); Victoria Sison
(OUDAR); Dr. Ma. Assunta Cuyegkeng, Rose Banzon (President’s Office), Hector Guballa (OUDAR), Dr. Armand Guidote,
LS Associate Dean for Research and Creative Work.


Dr. Armand Guidote, LS Associate Dean for Research and Creative Work, related that the donation of the LS Bookstore Professorial Chair came after a “long journey” which began during the term of former VPLS Dr. Ma. Assunta C. Cuyegkeng.

The LS Bookstore, which by that time was already supporting a number of student scholars, still had additional funds for donation. With students already benefiting from the bookstore’s profits (the LS Bookstore supports eight scholars to date), it seemed time to open up some opportunities for faculty members as well. From the initial idea of augmenting existing professorial chairs, Cuyegkeng and LS Bookstore director William Mallari came to the decision of creating a new professorial chair.

The new professorial chair will enable the LS Bookstore to support the work of faculty members who would not benefit from other chairs, which are normally governed by restrictions on their use. Being a “non-restricted” chair, it may be applied to areas of research which suffer from a lack of funding support.  


The memorandum of agreement for the professorial chair was signed by Mallari, along with University President Fr. Bienvenido F. Nebres, SJ, Vice President for the Loyola Schools Dr. John Paul C. Vergara, and Ateneo Scholarship Fund executive director Fr. Nemesio S. Que, SJ at the LS Bookstore premises within the MVP Center for Student Leadership.

With its support for students, and now faculty members, the LS Bookstore continues to prove its commitment to the objectives of both the Loyola Schools and the University as a whole.

Text by Joanna Ruiz
Photo by Teya Sabado