Loyola Schools recognizes excellence in faculty research for SY 2010-2011

On March 16, 2011, the Ateneo recognized its faculty members for excellence in scholarly research and creative work at the Loyola Schools Scholarly Work Awards.

More than 50 faculty members from the School of Humanities, School of Social Sciences and School of Science and Engineering received the Loyola Schools Publications Awards 
and Loyola Schools Scholarly Work Faculty Grants for their outstanding published research and creative work for schoolyear 2010-2011.

Awardees received their certificates and prizes from Dr. Edna P. Franco, Vice President for Administration and Planning, Dr. John Paul Vergara and their respective deans, Dr. Ma. Luz C. Vilches, for the School of Humanities, Dr. Norman Dennis Marquez, Officer-In-Charge for the School of Science and Engineering, and Mr. Clark Alejandrino, Officer-In-Charge for the School of Social Sciences.

The recipients of the Scholarly Work Grants and Instructional Materials Development Grants for the following schoolyear were also announced.

Nebres’ contributions to research

Dr. John Paul C. Vergara, Vice President for Loyola Schools, opened the program with an update on initiatives to assist faculty members with their research efforts. He also paid tribute to outgoing Ateneo de Manila President Fr. Bienvenido F. Nebres, S.J. by highlighting Fr. Nebres’ decisive and influential contributions to scholarly work in the university during his 18-year presidency. Dr. Vergara later presented Fr. Nebres with a token of appreciation, a compendium of research works by LS faculty for schoolyear 2009-2010. 

Fr. Nebres responded by thanking the faculty members for their hard work, saying “at the end of the day, it is you who do the work.” He reflected on the importance of developing a culture of research in the different LS departments. On the topic of creating research with social impact, Fr. Nebres remarked that although social relevance is a desirable goal in research, it is also important to  choose one’s research area correctly, in order to create a niche for the university in that field. “It’s in new areas where you can make a lot of progress,” he said.

Recognition of outstanding scholarly work

Aside from the Publication Awards, the Outstanding Scholarly Awards are given yearly Publication awardees whose works may be nominated by the authors, colleagues and deans. Further evaluation and critical reviews form the special committee of each school are made. This special recognition is given to exceptional and avant-garde works with a significant contribution to their appropriate disciplines.

This year’s Outstanding Scholarly Work for Social Sciences was awarded to Dr. Filomeno V. Aguilar, Jr. (above) of the Department of History for the book Maalwang Buhay: Family, Overseas Migration, and Cultures of Relatedness in Barangay Paraiso published in 2009 by Ateneo de Manila University Press.


The Outstanding Scholarly Work for Humanities was awarded to Dr. Ma. Luisa T. Reyes (above) of the Department of English for her book entitled Banaag at Sikat: Metakritisismo at Antolohiya published in 2010 by National Commission for Culture and the Arts. 

The Outstanding Scholarly Work for Science and Engineering was awarded to Dr. Margarita N. Lavides (above) of the Department of Environmental Science for her paper "Finfish disappearances inferred from traditional ecological knowledge in Bohol, Philippines" published in the Cambridge Journal of Environmental Conservation in 2010.

Congratulations to all the awardees!

Text by Sheena Sibya
Photographs by Kevin C. Tatco

Photo gallery

Scholarly Work Grants and Instructional Material Development Grants recipients

Publication Awards recipients-School of Humanities

Publication Awards recipients-School of Science and Engineering

Publication Awards recipients-School of Social Sciences

Publication Awards recipients-other ADMU units