Contact Information

Philippines-Australia Studies Network

426 6001 loc 4651

426 6067/426 6068



Office Hours:
Website :

NAST honors LS faculty members from Chemistry, History

Three faculty members of the Loyola Schools received awards from the National Academy of Science and Technology (NAST) during its 33rd Annual Scientific Meeting from July 13 to 14, 2011.

The Chemistry Department's 2011 NAST awardees Dr. Nina Rojas (2nd from L) and Dr. Reg So (R)
with Rojas’ co-author Paulina Aspilla and SOSE Dean and NAST Academician Dr. Toby Dayrit.

Dr. Regina C. So, Associate Professor of the Department of Chemistry (SOSE) was named 2010 Outstanding Young Scientist in Organic Chemistry.

Dr. So was recognized for her significant contributions in the design and faster synthesis of biologically important unique sphinganine-containing glycosphingolipid analogs used in elucidating the relationship between the structure of glycosphingolipid and the type of immune response they generate.

Faculty members from the School of Science and Engineering and the School of Social Sciences received Outstanding Scientific Paper awards.

Dr. Nina Rosario L. Rojas, Associate Professor of the Department of Chemistry (SOSE) received an Outstanding Scientific Paper Award for the paper “A Partial Expressed Sequence Tag (EST) Library of the economically important red alga Eucheuma denticulatum (N.L. Burham) F.C. Collins and Hervey” which she co-authored with Paulina S. Aspilla, Anna Angela Camille B. Antonio and Giuseppe C. Zuccarello. The paper was published in the Philippines Science Letters in 2010.

Dr. Francis A. Gealogo, Associate Professor of the Department of History (SOSS) received an Outstanding Scientific Paper Award for his paper “The Philippines in the World of the Influenza Pandemic of 1918-1919,” published in the journal Philippine Studies in 2009.

Awarding ceremonies were held at the close of the annual meeting on July 14, 2011 at the Manila Hotel.

Photograph courtesy of Regina So