Contact Information

Center for Communication Research and Training

426-6001 local 5217




Office Hours:

Mathematics professor is 2012 Metrobank Foundation’s Outstanding Teacher awardee for higher education

Dr. Catherine P. Vistro-Yu is one of two Metrobank Foundation’s Outstanding Teacher awardees (Higher Education Category) for 2012. She is a professor at the Department of Mathematics of the School of Science and Engineering.

Dr.Catherine P. Vistro-Yu

A dedicated math educator, Dr. Vistro-Yu graduated from the Ateneo de Manila University with a BS Mathematics degree in 1984, and obtained her MEd (1987) and EdD (1991) degrees in Mathematics Education at the University of Georgia. She has been teaching with the Ateneo’s Math Department for 21 years, since coming back from the United States in 1991.

For Dr. Vistro-Yu, the work of an educator is not confined to the classroom. For her, being a mentor means “being present to your students in their journey through college.” She believes that a teacher’s availability to his/her students outside the classroom, be it for consultations, extra teaching sessions, or heart-to-heart talks, plays a huge role in effective mentoring.

Dr. Vistro-Yu with her students

In the last decade, her work has been recognized a number of times. In 2007, she was named one of The Outstanding Women in the Nation’s Service (TOWNS). 2008 brought an Achievement Award from the National Research Council of the Philippines. She was cited as an excellent researcher from Southeast Asia in the 2009 publication Spotlight on: Excellent Researchers from Southeast Asia, Results of a SEA-RU-NET Mapping Study edited by Florian Gruber and Alexander Degelsegger. In 2010, the Ateneo Schools Parents Council (ASPAC) selected her as its Outstanding Senior Teacher for the schoolyear.  In July 2012, she was elected into the Executive Committee of the International Commission on Mathematical Instruction (ICMI) during its general assembly in Seoul, South Korea.

Dr. Vistro-Yu is the eleventh Metrobank Foundation’s Outstanding Teacher to come from the Ateneo’s college unit, and the third to come from the Department of Mathematics. She joins the following distinguished mentors from different departments in the College of Arts and Science (as the college was called before 2000) and the Loyola Schools:

             Ramon C. Reyes (Philosophy, 1987)

             Mari-Jo P. Ruiz (Mathematics, 1992)

             Ma. Assunta C. Cuyegkeng (Chemistry, 1997)

             Doreen G. Fernandez (Communication, 1998)

             Ma. Christina A. Astorga (Theology, 2000)

             Ricardo G. Abad (Sociology-Anthropology, 2001)

             Queena N. Lee-Chua (Mathematics, 2003)

             Manuel B. Dy (Philosophy, 2004)

             Ambeth R. Ocampo (History, 2006)

             Benilda S. Santos (Filipino, 2007)

The Metrobank Foundation’s Search for Outstanding Teachers (SOT), launched in 1984, is conducted annually in cooperation with the Department of Education and the Commission on Higher Education, and with the support of school heads of public and private elementary, secondary, and tertiary institutions in the Philippines.

The foundation believes that by recognizing the outstanding qualities, achievements, and contributions of teachers to national development, other teachers all over the country will be inspired to achieve excellence in teaching as well. In the 28 years since its launch, the Metrobank SOT has given awards to more than 300 Filipino educators.

Together with Metrobank Foundation’s 2012 awardees for Outstanding Soldiers and Outstanding Policemen, Dr. Vistro-Yu and nine more Outstanding Teacher awardees will be honored in a special ceremony on September 5, 2012 at Shangri-La Hotel, Makati.

Congratulations, Dr. Vistro-Yu!